The Carnevale Outfits: Tightrope Walker

I wore my Tightrope Walker costume on the wettest day in Venice, when St. Mark’s Square flooded.  The plan for the evening was to go to an event on a pirate ship which included a buffet, parading in St. Mark’s Square, and all kinds of festive fun.  What happened in reality is that it rained like Noah was building an ark and I directed us to the wrong vaporetto.  We wound up ready to go, but missed the boat.  We decided that since we were already dressed we would hit up Cafe Florian again since they had such amazing desserts.

Wearing a mask given to me by Santa Carlucci, who bought it in Venice.

Wearing a mask given to me by Santa Carlucci, who bought it in Venice.

The lace fabric for the outfit was purchased in the LA Garment District while I was at Gallifrey One.  I also got several yards of teal fabric to go behind the lace while I was there.  I wound up finding some coordinating chiffon at Hancock Fabrics and bought additional teal fabric at Joann Fabrics to coordinate.

The fabric was a pain in the butt.  The lovely Cheap Chick and Erica cut out 3 layers of everything – lining, satin and lace/chiffon.  I basted them together and then sewed them.  I tried spray basting (a miserable failure) and wound up just basting them on the machine.  The entire thing took far longer to make than I had anticipated, but the end result was worth it.

Full length view of the silliness.

Full length view of the silliness.

I used my Truly Victorian Ball Gown bodice pattern for the top.  I cut the lace in sections so as to piece it according to where it looked best.  I didn’t have a ton of the lace (maybe 3 yards?) so I needed to use it sparingly.  The hot pink trim was from Hobby Lobby and the gold lace from CheepTrims.

The apron was made of the lace and the lightweight teal satin.  I drafted a pattern by hand for it and added the gold lace trim to the sides to tie it in.  The gold bullion on the sleeves was something I picked up at a thrift store.

The skirt was a simple gathered skirt with elastic waistband.  The inner layer is a polished cotton and the outer layer is a silk organza that I found at the thrift store!  I added the gold lace to the bottom of that as well.

Elevator mirror shot!  And yes, Elizabeth is that tiny, even though I am wearing heels.

Elevator mirror shot! And yes, Elizabeth is that tiny, even though I am wearing heels.

Elizabeth let me borrow her feathers for my hair.  I wore my Ice Queen necklace because I had forgotten to pack the sparkly one I had purchased for it.

It has now gone to a new home and is being worn and loved by my wonderful friend Jess.

Bringing the sass to the tightrope!

Bringing the sass to the tightrope!

Leave a Reply

