The Carnevale Outfits: The Clown Costume

This outfit was transported to Italy and never worn.  Why? I’m not sure.  I think it was something that was supposed to be meant for someone else, much as the Tightrope Walker became Jessica’s, the clown became Chelsey’s.

Chelsey The Steampunk Clown, take 2

Chelsey The Steampunk Clown, take 2

When we went to Toronto for Costume Con 32, Chelsey was originally going to wear the Steampunk Clown.  It was decided not to bring it because it was just incredibly bulky.  Instead she wore the boots and this “daywear” version of the outfit.

The skirt is silk organza and is layered over a silk satin.  There are rows of ruffles down the back and everything is separated by bright trim.  The bodice was extra blue and pink silk taffeta left over from making the other clown.  The trim and buttons were purchased at Hobby Lobby.  The peplum was originally the parasol for the other clown.  Sadly the parasol did not make it back from Costume Con 31 in one piece, so the embroidered bits were scavenged.  We added two more embroidered animals to it and it was wide enough to make a peplum.  A patch was added to the back of the vest as well.

The blouse was a thrift store find.  The earrings were made for me by the lovely Erica to wear in Venice.  The horn was original to the other costume.  The wig is from Arda and make-up was done by the Cheap Chick and myself.

Too much llama for one hand!

Too much llama for one hand!

We wore our circus costumes in support of another Steampunk Circus that wound up winning Best in Show for the Sci Fi/Fantasy Masquerade.

The Two Clowns.

The Two Clowns.

I think this outfit looks so much better on Chelsey than it did on me, and I am happy she loves it so much.

The Steampunk Circus at Costume Con 32!

The Steampunk Circus at Costume Con 32!

I wore my red “Seester” dress and bustled it a bit over my black and white bustle.  It is now to the point that it is too big for me, and unlikely to be able to be altered, so this is it’s final wearing.  I wore the Cheap Chick’s straw La Paloma hat and a thrift store blouse for my role as the Ringmaster.

Now with Fortune Teller!

Now with Fortune Teller!

Clare stepped in for Jess as our strongwoman as Jess was competing as Ursula.  We were very excited when she won an award for Best Tentacles.  Also winning an award that evening was Nell for her Mirror Mirror wedding dress for Best Tailoring, and Samantha for her lovely Katniss wedding dress.

Gorgeous smocking!

Gorgeous smocking!

Why do some outfits demand to be made and then demand to belong to someone else?  I’m not entirely sure, but I am okay with it.  The ones that remain with me are meant to be.

Leave a Reply

