The Carnevale Outfits: Blue Italian

Because I am not sure when I will be able to finish my travel diary, I am going to post the outfits I wore to Carnevale in individual posts.

The first is what Elizabeth called my “Barbie Italian.”  Because I missed the plane I was able to work on this outfit and bring it in a partially assembled state onto various airplanes.  Much to the amusement of the Italian man seated next to me on the flight to Venice, I hand-stitched on trim, set sleeves into the bodice and attached the skirt to the bodice all while flying.  The final outfit was loose, comfortable and BRIGHT.

With my new gold mask.

With my new gold mask.

The inspiration was the crazy fun gowns on The Borgias.  So many of them seem to be made of sari (or fake sari) fabric that I wanted to have something similar.  All of these fabrics were purchased at Joann Fabrics.  The trims have been ones I have collected over the last several years from Hobby Lobby, the LA Garment District, etc.  Luckily everything worked together.

I used an old Simplicity pattern for the bodice and hand-drafted the sleeves.  The skirt is one giant tube of fabric that had the trim sewn onto the front to give it the illusion of having an underskirt.

Elizabeth and I ready to board the gondola to the Dolce Carnival Event.

Elizabeth and I ready to board the gondola to the Dolce Carnival Event.

I neglected to put elastic in the bottom of the poufs, and instead tied some thin elastic there in order to have them stay up.  The bodice trim also needs to be removed and put back on with a better mitered angle at the front edges, otherwise I was happy with how the dress turned out.

My favorite photo from the entire trip.

My favorite photo from the entire trip.

After the Dolce Carnival event we walked in the rain with a lovely couple from Scotland.

Forcing innocent tourists to take our photo in the rain.

Forcing innocent tourists to take our photo in the rain.

We wound up at Cafe Florian in St. Mark’s Square with some additional folks from the evening event and had a marvelous time.

Our group at Cafe Florian.

Our group at Cafe Florian.

Best thing about this dress?  It can go in the washing machine and be hung to dry!

Leave a Reply

