Costume Con 32: Toronto

We just got back from Costume Con 32 in Toronto and it was a BLAST.  Best CosCon I have been to in years.  So many people in costume, so many masquerade entries, so much FUN.

For the Friday night social I wore my finished Eleonora.  I am just going to post a preview of it here, as it is going to get it’s own post soon.

DONE!

DONE!

For Saturday day several of us had decided to go as Star Trek members.  It all started last year when Jess wore her Vulcan outfit from “The Wrath of Khan.”  Being a huge Khan fan, we decided to do a Kirk and Khan duo.  Then the Cheap Chick decided to get in on the act and be Benedict Khan to my Ricardo Khan.  Add in a Madeline Khan and a Leprechaun, and we were one big sight gag.  Sadly I do not have a photo of the Leprechaun, but she was adorable.

The Khan Yell.

The Khan Yell.

My Dad did an amazing job finding the parts for my jewelry, and Jess welded everything together for me.  She also used the 3D printer to cut out the giant tooth on the belt and the Star Fleet symbol on the necklace.

Kirk and Khans - BFFs FOREVER

Kirk and Khans – BFFs FOREVER

My wig was from Arda wigs, and the bodice was made from scratch from 1.5 yards of velvet and 1/2 yard of silk.  It was made as close as possible to the original without my showing off my entire chest, lol.

Khan and Khan.

Khan and Khan.

The belt was a thrift store find that I modifed.  The pants were a last minute purchase from Lands End and were HUGE on me.  The boots are my amazing Born fur boots that are not screen accurate, but sure are comfy.

Khan and Madeline Kahn at Target.

Khan and Madeline Kahn at Target.

Not going to lie, the grey hair was a little strange to wear.  Like seeing myself in the mirror 20 years from now.

Mrs. White is shocked by what she finds.

Mrs. White is shocked by what she finds.

Arte was the best Mrs. White ever.  She had a noose over her shoulder and her purse had a radio that played “Shake, Rattle and Roll.”

We also met up with Terry who had a Regency Kirk costume, and a Deep Space Niner.

Khan yell!

Khan yell!

Happy Khans and Kahns.

Happy Khans and Kahns.

Saturday night was the Sci Fi/Fantasy masquerade and we wore our Steampunk circus costumes as posted about previously.  We went in support of all of our friends who were in the masquerade.  Every one of them won an award.

And then we took this:

Move over Ellen!  This is the best selfie ever!

Move over Ellen! This is the best selfie ever!

Sunday AM we were rather tired and I did not want to wear a corset.  So I wore a vintage inspired dress from eShakti and a vintage hat and channeled my grandmother.

Posing in the hallway.

Posing in the hallway.

Nell wore a really cute Cruella DeVil 1950’s costume on Sunday too.

No actual puppies were harmed in the making of this outfit.

No actual puppies were harmed in the making of this outfit.

And I got to help sew a tornado.

Channeling Grandma.

Channeling Grandma.

That evening we participated in the Historical Masquerade as the Miss Oz Pageant.  Here is a preview of our group.  More info is going to go in a separate post.

Photo featured on Andrea Schewe's blog.

Photo featured on Andrea Schewe’s blog.

That would be me in the back, as the Wicked Witch.  We had a blast and several of us won Worksmanship awards.

More to come!

 

Leave a Reply

