The 2013 Wrap-Up Post

In terms of costuming, 2013 was pretty decent.

I started out the year by creating a crazy Steampunk Clown with the help of my Dad and the lovely Chelsey (and with an assist from Steve on the key) that pretty much changed my entire costuming perspective.

Welcome to the Show!

Welcome to the Show!

I had so much fun creating this costume.  I learned to do things like crochet, jewelry making and I even made my own shoes.  It won 3rd place in the Your Wardrobe Unlock’d competition and was part of the Best Master Presentation at Costume Con in the Sci Fi Masquerade.  I got emails from all over the world about the wig, and the outfit was featured on several different websites.

It is the costume that inspired me to start my own FB group.  In just 8 months Shear Madness has gained over 400 followers and our first Quarterly Challenge ends tomorrow.  I am so amazed and proud that there are so many people who love the fun side of costuming and who are so giving in advice and support to others.

I also went to Gallifrey One in February for the first time, and I have never been to a more welcoming and friendly convention in my life.

He was very popular with the ladies of the Green Room.  Note the lipstick all over his face...

You don’t know Jack like WE know Jack…

It was also the first convention that I ever went to with one of my kids.  Grace and I had a great time and I think she enjoyed hanging out with my crazy group of friends.  We also entered the Masquerade and won two awards in worksmanship for “The Doctor Presents His Fall Collection.”

Action shot!

Action shot!

Grace wore her Victorian Clara the Barmaid costume and was interviewed by Chloe Dykstra of The Nerdist, wearing the same costume.

River Song and Amy Pond

River Song and Amy Pond

I dressed up as her daughter and she dressed as my mother and the whole thing was very timey-wimey, as they say.

Weeping Angels creeping each other out

Weeping Angels creeping each other out

She also got to wear an early 1900’s version of a Weeping Angel costume, complete with festive tiara.

At our favorite booth in the restaurant...

Hanging out.

I got to wear my 4th Doctor knitted bustle again and meet up with other Doctors and their scarves.  Grace got to wear her Reinette francaise and run away from Clockwork Droids.

In April it seemed like everyone wanted a Jayne hat, including chickens.

Queen Leda of the Coup Mahal, Washington State.

Queen Leda of the Coup Mahal, Washington State.

As of last count, I have made over 30 hats that have gone as far as Australia and the UK, and been worn by chickens, in 5K races and to baseball games.  They have all been free to their owners and I am happy to bring a little bit of Firefly joy to the world.

The Steampunk Circus!

The Steampunk Circus!

I went to Costume Con in Denver and had a great time participating in two very different masquerades.  The Steampunk Circus ladies amazed me with their incredible costumes and creative uses of unusual materials:  Curtains as bodices!  Gerbil balls as bar bells!  Raffia as wigs!

A celebratory booty dance is always necessary.

A celebratory booty dance is always necessary.

Maven and I entered the Historical Masquerade and I finally got a chance to dance to “Jump On It” in a huge set of panniers.  We had a blast performing and my wig did not fall apart, which I considered a win.

I wound up modifying the giant court dress and with the help of the lovely Chelsey it became an 18th century robe a la francaise with embroidery and beadwork.  We were lucky to win a pretty ribbon rosette at the MN State Fair.

The dress as pinned to my very teeny dress form, minus the corset and chemise.  The bow on the stomacher was declared overkill and removed.  The whole thing hangs much more nicely on a human being.

The dress as pinned to my very teeny dress form, minus the corset and chemise. The bow on the stomacher was declared overkill and removed. The whole thing hangs much more nicely on a human being.

In July I went back to Convergence, the biggest Sci Fi convention in Minnesota.  Grace also came along and wore her USO Girl costume.  She and I collaborated on a costume she really wanted to wear:  Daenerys Targaryen, the Mother of Dragons.

The Mother of Dragons.

With her dragon egg purse.  That belt is made of HOT GLUE.

I had 12 women staying in my house and things got a little crazy. Especially when we entered the masquerade in our geek can can costumes.

A Night at the Moulin Rouge.  Photo by Jacob John.

A Night at the Moulin Rouge. Photo by Jacob John.

Grace as a USO Girl and I am Dr. Amy Farrah Fowler.

Grace as a USO Girl and I am Dr. Amy Farrah Fowler.

We had a great time even though we screwed up our ending.  Being Amy Farrah Fowler with a smoking monkey was a HOOT.  I wandered around the rest of the evening in her outfit and had a blast.

My Pirate Family - older sister Opaline, her twin Ophelia, our mother Lilith, my twin Dona Margarita, and me.  Note the classy blue ball jar stemware we are sporting.

My Pirate Family – older sister Opaline, her twin Ophelia, our mother Lilith, my twin Dona Margarita, and me. Note the classy blue ball jar stemware we are sporting.

I was able to go back to the Bristol Renaissance Festival with my pirate family and dressed up again in my seester costume from 2012.

She tried to find someone to be Barnacle Boy, but no one would commit to a bald cap.

She tried to find someone to be Barnacle Boy, but no one would commit to a bald cap.

Grace went to college and we dressed her as Mermaid Man from Spongebob Squarepants for Halloween.

Minus his purple crayon...

Minus his purple crayon…

I “made” Dexter the Jedi a “Harold and the Purple Crayon” costume.  It was the easiest thing I ever did, requiring handstitching of one thing and embroidering a sleeper.

With King Henry.  Photo by Darin Ewing.

With King Henry. Photo by Darin Ewing.

I was fortunate enough to make an outfit for the Queen of the Minnesota Renaissance Festival.  She was wonderful to work with and looked beautiful in anything I put her in.

Rehearsal for "Much Ado."

Rehearsal for “Much Ado.”

I costumed my first high school play (Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare) in Italian Renaissance “style” and discovered that I love costuming for the theatre.

Me, Erica as a pirate in my clothes, The Cheap Chick as a Steampunk Cigarette Girl, Maggie as the 10th Doctor cross-played as a female flapper (that is Gallifreyan beaded on her skirt) and DangerKitty as Renaissance Abby from NCIS.

Me, Erica as a pirate in my clothes, The Cheap Chick as a Steampunk Cigarette Girl, Maggie as the 10th Doctor cross-played as a female flapper (that is Gallifreyan beaded on her skirt) and DangerKitty as Renaissance Abby from NCIS.

I threw out my back but still managed to dress up in borrowed goth wear and attend a fall masquerade ball with friends, although I did miss Teslacon.

Eleonora di Toledo fabric recreation, Sartor Textiles.

Eleonora di Toledo fabric recreation, Sartor Textiles.

One of the most exciting developments of the year was that the Eleonora fabric recreation that Kim and I have been working on for so long has finally happened.  Five metres of it is currently winging it’s way to me from across the world.

I ended the year preparing for my upcoming trip to Venice (yay!) and attending the 3rd Annual Fezziwig’s Christmas Carol party.  I didn’t really want to make something new, so I modified my Liesl costume and went as Steampunk Liesl.  I was the only person in negative degree weather wearing sandals.

Edelweiss all over my bustle.

Edelweiss all over my bustle.

 

Enjoying my "first" champagne.

Enjoying my “first” champagne.

A hat covered in my "Favorite Things."

A hat covered in my “Favorite Things.”

There were many outfits I had planned on making that didn’t happen due to health issues, remodeling and apathy.  I plan on doing some of them in 2014 and some might just get stuck on the “Someday This Will Happen” pile.  Or as I said to a friend, “Piles of fabric and wishes.”

I was very fortunate to be able to costume with so many wonderful friends this year and visit some really fun places.  I look forward to 2014 with some trepidation, but also with excitement.  I hope everyone has a wonderful New Year.

*****************************************************

2014 looks to be a great year for costuming.  (knock on wood)  My travel plans for next year:

February-March:  Royal School of Needlework class and Carnevale in Italy

April:  Costume Con in Toronto

May:  DIODES Costume Ball

July:  Convergence and Bristol

August/September:  Dragon Con in Atlanta

November:  Teslacon in Madison, WI

December:  Fezziwig’s Ball

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

