Cunning Hats Around the World

A couple of years ago I knit my daughter a Jayne Cobb hat from the TV series Firefly for her birthday.

G in her cunning hat.

G in her cunning hat.

Then my friends saw it and said, “Hey!  I want one too!”  Consequently last Christmas was the Jayne Hat Christmas.  Everyone got one.

Maven at a Twins Game wearing a cunning hat.

Maven at a Twins Game wearing a cunning hat.

Then people started to bring to my attention the fact that Etsy shops were being closed down and people were being forced to stop making the hats for money due to copyright infringement.  I was not and have not been worried about anyone denying me the right to make a Jayne hat because I have never taken money for them.  They have always been gifts.

I have continued to knit them for others, for free.  We are all fans of the show and they really are one of the only things I know how to knit.  I have no desire to start any sort of business since I am retired, but I love knitting this crazy thing for friends and family, so I continue to pay for the yarn out of my own pocket.  I simply think that everyone I know should have one.  My younger daughter wants one in the same style, but in the stripes of the 4th Doctor Who’s scarf.

Then people started posting photos of themselves wearing them on FB and suddenly I really wanted a photo album of people around the world wearing my hats.

The lovely Suzette wearing her hat at work in CA.

The lovely Suzette wearing her cunning hat at work in CA.

My friend Lis was getting one in the mail and I jokingly said I would make one for one of her chickens.  She dared me to.  So I did.

Modeled on the Buddha for size reference and hilarity.

A cunning hat modeled on the Buddha for size reference and hilarity.

She retaliated by sending me the following:

Queen Leda of the Coup Mahal, Washington State.

Queen Leda of the Coup Mahal, Washington State.  A chicken wears a hat like this?  Everyone knows she isn’t afraid of anything.

THIS IS THE BEST THING I HAVE SEEN ALL DAY.  A CHICKEN IS WEARING A JAYNE HAT.

Yes, I know the flaps are supposed to be red, but I ran out of red for the flaps, and I don’t think the chicken minds.

I have sent out a hat to a friend in the UK, one is going to my brother in Japan, and Kim might be getting one in Australia.  (SHH!  It’s a secret!)  I don’t think anything is going to top an ACTUAL CHICKEN wearing a hat, but there is still plenty of time to prove me wrong.

I am glad I am able to do something to represent a show that I love and bring joy to friends and family and chickens everywhere.  If you want a hat I suggest you contact Think Geek, who helped to develop the licensed hat, and who donates the proceeds of their hats to charity.

The only person who doesn’t have one of the hats is me.  Every time I make one for myself I wind up sending it to someone else.  Eventually I will have one.  After I finish making one for my dog.

Leave a Reply

